ARIA Chart Wrap Up – 9/07

The Top Ten:

  1. In My Blood – The Veronicas
  2. One Dance – Drake ft. Kyla & Wizkid
  3. Can’t Stop The Feeling – Justin Timberlake
  4. This is What You Came For – Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna
  5. Too Good – Drake ft. Rihanna
  6. Don’t Let Me Down – The Chainsmokers ft. Daya
  7. Me Too – Meghan Trainor
  8. Treat You Better – Shawn Mendes
  9. Don’t Be So Shy – Imany
  10. Panda – Desiigner

Well damn, while One Dance was bound to fall from the top eventually, I never could have predicted that In My Blood would continue to have massive traction and rise to number one. I’m a hesitant to make any predictions regarding the song’s future, but let’s hope that this spells the end of One Dance’s number one dominance. As I predicted last week, Don’t Be So Shy has become a top ten hit and will likely continue to rise, which is a good thing as it’s only grown on me more since I first reviewed it. Treat You Better by Shawn Mendes on the other hand can just stop its rise up to eight this week is a little unnerving.



  1. In My Blood – The Veronicas 3>1
  2. Don’t Be So Shy – Imany 16>9
  3. I Took a Pill in Ibiza – Mike Posner 25>17
  4. The Fighter – Keith Urban ft. Carrie Underwood 27>19
  5. Don’t Mind – Kent Jones 39>30
  6. Enough – Delta Goodrem ft. Gizzle 46>33

Outside of the natural gains by our newer arrivals like Enough and Don’t Mind, the real surprise this week is the out of nowhere gains by The Fighter and even more so I Took a Pill in Ibiza. The continued success of Mike Posner’s rogue single is satisfying, as it is easily one of the best radio songs of the year.


  1. No Money – Gatlantis 15<20
  2. Be The One – Dua Lipa 21<27
  3. Wherever I Go – OneRepublic 32<41
  4. Wild – Troye Sivan 26<44
  5. Heathens – Twenty One Pilots 37<48
  6. Hold Up – Beyonce 43<49
  7. Fast Car – Jonas Blue ft. Dakota 45<50

This week brings us a couple of drops I’m thankful for, like the woeful No Money and Wherever I Go, but also the expected but frustrating drops of Heathens and (once again) Hold Up.

New Hits:

M.I.L.F. $ – Fergie

What can I really say about this song, I mean if you’ve heard it you know it’s horrible, and even if you actively enjoy it you know it’s horrible. The flaws are pretty clear, Fergie chirps away over incessant stabs of percussion and spastic instrumentation, singing about being a strong and sexually confident mother. It’s clearly not meant to be taken too seriously but the structure feels so haphazard and rushed that it is hardly a worthwhile piece of satire, let alone a decent song.

Hotter Than Hell – Dua Lipa

As much as I enjoyed Dua Lipa’s breakout single Be The One, this new track is highlighting her excellent voice to a greater degree. Both her huskier delivery on the verses and her belting on the chorus are good, so why is this a significant step down from Be The One? The answer lies solely in the songwriting, while Be The One had that instantly memorable chorus, this song feels standard by comparison. Not bad though.

Famous – Kanye West ft. Rihanna & Swizz Beats

Probably the most reputable cut from Kanye’s tumultuous Life of Pablo, if only for that Taylor Swift line, it was only a matter of time before Kanye did what he does best and capitalized on the controversy. Famous is a collection of great music sections which are brought together into an above-average package. Rihanna’s intro is strong and while Kanye West is an insufferable asshole, he is still an entertaining one even when his tracks lack any cohesion.

Final Song – MO

For someone who has seen immense success at this early juncture of her career, MO’s overall sound is pretty indistinctive. Final Song immediately calls to mind the Brat-Pop sound of Charli XCX with its chanted chorus and European slant. While the EDM-inspired instrumentation is pretty mediocre, the hook is undeniably catchy and well-performed enough to be a welcome addition to your mental rotation.

Bonbon – Era Istrefi

This is an odd one; I can’t get too complimentary because as a whole it is pretty mediocre, but when you break this single down there are some interesting elements to it. There are some considerable structural risks as the instrumentation flows into unexpected territory with some surprising additions. Still another Euro-Pop track at the end of the day though.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s